Well for those who don't already know we ended back up in the hospital.  Gage and I went to the ER at 12:30am on the 15th of September and were admitted around 3 o'clock in the morning.  It's funny that sometimes my husband, myself, and Gage have really bad timing. On the morning of the 15th my husband left to go to San Antonio, later when Gage and I woke up, I noticed he had a runny nose and that was all.  Later through the day I tried giving him Dynatap, but it didn't really do much. He started coughing too, he was just producing too much mucus.  Then when I tried to go get some lunch for us Gage vomitted all over himself in his carseat.  It was so scary!!  I didn't really know what to do and no one was there to help me clean him up.  So I rushed home and on the way called the referral line so I could go to the emergency clinic.  We went to the emergency clinic and I prayed the whole way there that he wouldn't throw up again in his car seat.  We got there fine (Thank the Lord!!) and the doctor looked at him and prescribed some medicine to calm down his gag reflex, albuterol, one to stop his runny nose and one for what the Dr. said looked like a mild ear infection.  My only concern now was how am I going to get all this down him?!  Well the pharamacy said it was going to take an hour - of course!  And then they were going to have to order the medicine for his gag reflex.  In the meatime I gave him some Benadryl, it helped a little, but really just made Gage loopy.  I gave him his albuterol because I noticed he was having difficulty breathing, it helped for about 30 minutes. That's when I decided to just go to the ER, nothing was helping and I could see that he was retracting (when you breath in and the skin pulls in around your ribs, navel and other areas on the upper chest) - REALLY BAD!!  It scared me, I have never seen him do that before and it was like him was fighting to breath (because he was.).  I tried calling my husband and couldn't get ahold of him, which was scarry too!  I ended up getting in contact with him after we were admitted to the hospital, that day at around 8 or so in the morning.  They told me before they admitted him that Gage had pneumonia.  I couldn't believe how fast it had on set! Just that morning he had a runny nose and not even 24 hours later - pneumonia. We had doctors swarming our room, they all wanted to see the "48" baby.  It even got to the point where I was tired of explaining what 48 syndrome was to them.   I had a nurse tell me we should submit Gage's story to Mystery Diagnoses.  Humm. Something to think about.  I was glad when we finally got to leave the hospital (on the 17th) , we when "got out of the fish bowl".  Gage has been doing good since we came home.  We went to our family doctor for a follow up apt, and the doctor told us that she believes that Gage is going to continue to have respiratory problems.  That it is just Gage and unrelated to the 48 syndrome.  So she is sending us to another Pulmonologist so we can get on a scheduled plan of treatment.  Genetics has done us no favors - Gage inherits Jeremy's sensitive gag reflex and all of my respiratory issues.  But on the up side Gage is cute like is mom and is a sweety like his dad!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Lauren.  At the time of typing this I am 27 years old.  I am married to a wonderful man who is currently employed by the United States Air Force.  Together we have one child, Gage, to whom this site is deicated.  Gage has an older half-sister, Halle, by my husband's first marriage.  I am currently a stay at home mother, but am making plans to finish my degree. 

    Archives

    September 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed