It has been awhile since last I posted.  So much has happened.  We have traveled to Little Rock and back, to spend some much needed time with my family.  It was a wonderful trip.  Gage took his frist trip to the zoo while in Little Rock, where we experienced what can only be described as "Africa hot" like conditions.  We also went to Arkansas Children's Hospital where we met Dr. Schaefer, a Geneticist and Endocrinologist.  He has seen other boys with 48 and it was nice to get a well informed second opinion.  He told me first of all and most importantly to not believe everything doctors say - this is a spectrum syndrome, i.e. it has a wide range of severity.  Each case is different, each child unique and this means that the future will be hard to predict.  Then he hit me with news I found hard to digest - he has never seen a 48'er go on to live independently.  Even before I was married or had a child, I use to worry about the future - so now having heard this news, you can only imagine how distraught I was, even though Gage is only 18 months old!  I am learning to live one day at a time and just let the future be what it is - unknown to us all.  On a more positive note Gage now know three different signs, "more," "all done or finished," and "eat."  We are working on "please,"  he has a little trouble with placing his hand on his chest but, he'll get it soon enough.  He is still not walking but, I did discover today that he can stand on his own, not holding on to anything or anyone - he is just really scared too.  As soon as he realizes what he is doing he panics and tips himself forward.  He can walk, I know it, it's now up to Gage to decide to do it.  His therapist also agree with me that Gage can walk as soon as he gets up the courage, that's the only thing holding him back.  He is still the sweetest, most loving little boy and I am so blessed that God chose me to be his mommy!   
keke
7/16/2010 10:53:16 pm

Lauren,
You and Jere have done an excellent job w/ scooter! The Lord has blessed you w/ patience's beyond measure!!
What was it that Dr. said...don't believe anything that is said about 48'ers, because it can range...well, Scooter could grow up and live independently!! It could happen!! Just keep up the good work and God will take care of the rest!!
Love yall!!
keke

Reply
Kathy
7/17/2010 01:13:42 am

Lauren,
You have done a great job with this and your love of Gage just shines through! Hugs and kisses to Jeremy and Gage.
Love you,
Kathy

Reply
Mary
7/17/2010 02:58:04 am

Thanks for keeping us posted. I love the blog! You all are in my prayers. I understand the worries a parent feels about their childs future. You are a strong woman and very inspiring! Blessings to your family! Love, Mary Sims

Reply
7/18/2010 02:45:04 am

Dad is so happy to know that my daughter and grandson can accomplish anything! Plus, my son-in-law is the best at loving and working hard to take care of his family's needs! I'm very impressed with your Blog. You do us all proud Lauren.
Love Dad

Reply
Shane Engle
7/19/2010 12:16:29 pm

Lauren - Kathy wanted me to see the website! I think you did a great job with it! I love your positive attitude and I know the God has placed Gage in YOUR life for a very special reason! You are all in my thoughts and prayers and I hope to one day meet this precious member of our family!
Love, Shane :)

Reply
MeeMeeT (Mom)
7/19/2010 02:04:57 pm

You know how much I love all three of you. I'm so proud to say your my daughter, your strong and positive. I know how hard it has been and you know Scott and Iare here you, Jeremy and my precious Gage. I thought when I had you I couldn't love anyone that much -- but God has proved me wrong. I was there when he was born, I cut the cord and he will be a beautiful piece of my heart until I die. Always Mom.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Lauren.  At the time of typing this I am 27 years old.  I am married to a wonderful man who is currently employed by the United States Air Force.  Together we have one child, Gage, to whom this site is deicated.  Gage has an older half-sister, Halle, by my husband's first marriage.  I am currently a stay at home mother, but am making plans to finish my degree. 

    Archives

    September 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed